Board and Staff

The IBNA Board of Directors is elected by the membership of the organization at the annual convention.  Each board member serves a one-year term.

Three officers are elected,  the president, president-elect, and past president, who make up the executive committee.  You must be serving on the board to be elected to an officer position.

Board members meet quarterly and select the site of the convention,  and plan the various convention sessions based on trends in the industry and input from members.

Board of Directors

Past President
Zarren Egesdal
KIOW Radio
2022-2023 President
Angela Looney
University of Iowa
President Elect
Sheila Brummer
Siouxland Public Media
Television At-Large
Andrew Altenbern
Waterloo, IA
Northwest Region Director
Mark Buss
Sioux County Radio
College University Director
Lisa Carponelli
Simpson College
Central Region Director
Ryan Russell
Des Moines
Southwest Region Director
Mandy Billings
KSOM Radio
Southeast Region Director
David Baker
KALA Radio
Student Director
David Meyer
St. Ambrose
Radio At-Large Director
Jon Jacobsen
Boomer Radio, KXCB
Council Bluffs, Omaha
Northeast Region Director

Executive Director

The executive director is hired by the board and it is a permanent position. The executive director represents the board as needed, while also working with the board in the planning and operation of the annual convention and news contest.

Executive Director
Dar Danielson
Radio Iowa
Contact at: